top of page
Writer's pictureAna Botea

Planning - topic & content

Updated: Mar 3, 2021

As the planning step has come along, I decided to create another survey. This survey is more specific and has to do with the overall topic that I am going for in my magazine. It is important for me to know the opinions of people and especially women as they are the target audience to our magazine and its genre is lifestyle and fashion in order to really create the best issue.


Ilinca and I decided to have two issues of our magazine- each of them on a different topic but obviously which links to lifestyle and fashion. Therefore, my idea of the issue was inspired by the outside world and events occurring in these times that we live in.


I believe that taking into account our surroundings and present when creating a magazine is equally important to every other aspect of it, because people will always be interested in what is happening around the world and how they can link whatever they read or see to that.


Therefore, I put my heart into building a concise, short yet powerful survey in which I gave my target audience the freedom to express their worries and feelings anonymously, which I will then use in my magazine as articles (i will get inspired from the responses) and find creative ways in one's lifestyle (this includes fashion, diet, workouts) in order for the negative feelings, stress and overall overwhelm that has added up after a hard year to be overcome.


In my opinion, mental health is the most important aspect of one's life, and if that is well, then everything builds up from there - especially lifestyle, fashion and wellbeing. I have had a lot of trouble deciding on the title of my issue, because given the responses from the survey 'hope' and 'confidence' are the two topics I found most fit.

So I decided to analyse both of them:




Having looked at both definitions, it seems as if they are similar to the extent where both are related to faith. But what I realised is the fact that without confidence in one's self, there is no hope. And that is exactly what Ilinca (my teammate) and I want the women who read our magazine to be: confident.

And therefore, that is how this issue was created:


The Confidence Issue


Therefore, the articles in my magazine will relate mostly with how to become more confident not only with yourself - looks, body - but with your life - how to have faith that whatever the future brings will be in your favour and how to manage handling the present.

As SYLK is a magazine which is in favour of women loving themselves and feeling at their best through healthy and chic lifestyles, I believe that such an important matter as learning how to love yourself and how to handle stressful times, situations and moments in life is the key to becoming that woman.


Here I will share the survey which I created and the anonymous answers I have received which made me shape my issue of the magazine:


SURVEY


RESPONSES

Here you can find the list of responses I have gathered to the survey. I chose not to reveal the long-answer texts as they not only are long but they are confidential. As I presented in the description of the survey, all answers were anonymous and will be kept confidential. However, the other ones which were gathered as percentages and were multiple choice questions will be presented below and explained thoroughly, as well as their connection to my issue.

The open-ended answers which I have not presented here have definitely helped me understand the topic better and more deeply as I managed to learn about people's confidence issues through their own words with no fear that anyone will know who they are. The results which I got are both valid and representative which is a bonus for me and for the shaping of my future table of contents and potential articles in my magazine.

The shown answers above have also helped me in understanding the issues at a more generalised level, which is also good because the respondents did not only have the freedom to express their feelings freely but also in a more concise manner.


The highest percentages in the questions therefore show that:

➡ 50% of the respondents think that their mental health/moods and feelings have changed significantly over the past year

➡86.4% of the respondents say that the most common feeling they've dealt with over the past year is stress

➡95.5% of the respondents say that they would read a magazine in which solutions to these issues would be given through routines and living healthy lifestyles

➡90.9% of the respondents say that they believe a good routine, diet and lifestyle to be the key ingredient to feeling at your best

➡90.9% have faith that whatever the future brings will be better


As this step is fulfilled, I now feel prepared to move on and plan my photoshoot based on my issue's topic.


I have chosen this to be my first step and post in planning because I feel like this is the vital step in deciding over my photoshoot which will be inspired by the issue: "confidence". Moreover, I will know exactly how my magazine will look in terms of design and what should be added in it being inspired by the topic.


Here is a link to Ilinca's post about her topic and content as well.




24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page