top of page
Writer's pictureAna Botea

Planning - Photoshoot

Updated: May 3, 2021

For my first photoshoot, I want to create something simple yet beautiful. I want to enhance elegance through the use of dark colours, simple clothes, wine and also maybe masks - in order to portrait the present. I have saved some pictures on Pinterest which go for what I want as inspiration, but I still want to be original and go with the flow once I start to take the photos. I want it to be spontaneous and whatever idea comes to my mind during the photoshoot to be used, but while still having a basis to work on - and that is what this planning is for. Therefore, some of the photos that I saved for inspiration are:


As can be seen, the inspiration photos are not only black and white, but go towards a more colourful vibe as well. I want to also differentiate light and darkness - on a visual level but psychological level as well, to enforce the idea of yin and yang (in darkness there will always be a glimpse of light and vice versa). Therefore, I will try to use this concept as well.

I want to portrait femininity and confidence in one's self through actions captured and poses that express that, which is why I chose two very different models to pose - which I feel are different in looks but just as beautiful due to their hair colour , eye colour, hair length etc. differences.

Moreover, I will conduct my photoshoot in a closed environment (an apartment) as for it to really emphasize the thought of quarantine and activities we did inside - as some articles seen in the table of contents will also talk about that, and because the time spent inside made a lot of women feel more insecure with themselves. That is why my models will pose naturally and the actions I will capture will be of their lifestyle inside, what we did while being stuck for three months but in an artistic way - as it is presented above.


Note*: Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, shooting places and resources as well as number of models we will be able to use will be limited - therefore we will not be able to create shoots as broad as we'd wish to.


Therefore, my colleague - Ilinca and I have both chosen the same two models for our individual photoshoots and will have a different one on each of our covers.


MODELS:





Sonia Manole

Age: 17


I decided to use Sonia as one of my photoshoot models because of her distinctive and unique features - being really different from Irina, my other model.






Irina Cuc

Age: 16


My second model is Irina, and compared to Sonia, her features, although equally beautiful are very different. She has got blue eyes and blond hair and recently got a buzz cut! Her hair has now grown more, but is the perfect length for my photoshoot.


I believe that Irina and Sonia are both fit for my confidence issue, as they express mystery and beauty. Through their ways of posing, I believe they could inspire young women from all around the world into feeling good in their own skin.



CONTACT METHOD:

I decided to contact the girls through messages, as it would be easier for us to communicate quickly about details there. Therefore, Ilinca and I created a group chat with all four of us in order for us to be able to transmit any details efficiently.



Note*: Both of our first photoshoots will be individual. That means that the other teammate (in my case, Ilinca) will only be there to help me if needed and vice versa.


LOCATION:

The location that I picked out which I thought would be the best for my idea and concept is an AirBnb (coincidentally located on the same street that I live on - which is a plus because I will be able to move back and forth for props). I believe that the theme of the apartment - which combines rustic with industrial details fits my idea really well - since I love the colours as well. Here are some pictures of the apartment:

Its details are incredible, as they can be easily put into my pictures and I can use a lot of features which are already there as props.


PROPS:


Clothing & accessories


The clothing that I am going to use is going to be rather simple. As you can see in my inspiration board, most of the girls use their own body to express confidence and are portrayed in closed environments (such as at home) which is why I was inspired to conduct my photoshoot inside - as well as because it is winter outside and shooting for a long time in the cold air wouldn't have been as comfortable.

I really enjoyed seeing the use of long gloves as they represent elegance and femininity. Moreover, I would also like to use simple jewellery as an addition to the simple yet full look - as I believe they are a piece that women can not live without.

Moreover, I will use a variety of slip dresses and long, loose shirts as they are casual but also simple:




Also, I will use a combination of shoes in order to achieve different looks of elegance and casualness, depending on the model and what she wears. Therefore, I will use sneakers as well as some more elegant sandals and heels.


Make-up

As for the makeup, I will try to keep it simple and not add too much of it, as it will hide the natural beauty of the models.

However, in shots such as them putting on makeup in the mirror, I will indeed make use of a red lip and some eyeliner:



Other

As for the other props, I will not only use whatever we have in the apartment that I rented, but will also bring some props on my own besides the clothes and makeup. I will bring in a ring light that I have ordered which looks like this:


Moreover, I will use more detailing props such as wine and cigarettes. as I believe they are the most common vices of people and would represent the reality of which we live in more deeply.









COSTS

As for the costs, the two major features that I have spent on were:

➡ AirBnb - 200 ron (41Euros)

➡ Ring light - 95 ron (19.50Euros)

➡ Total 295 ron ( 60.50 Euros)


All in all, I am really looking forward to this photoshoot and am excited to see what the outcome of it will be.













34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page